NBSRTSJ ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

May 16, 2019

The AGM of the NBSRTSJ was held at The Hope Centre on May 16, 2019 with the President Judy Braman in the chair. Judy called the meeting to order and asked Nancy Steele to lead the group in the singing of O Canada which was followed by Grace.

Following the lunch, a moment of silence was lead by Kathy Wilson. Members remembered included: Gerry Mabey, Anna Boyle, Rita Hale, Linda Scott, Mary Fitzhebert, Joe Fitzgerald, Kathleen Ingersoll and Jared Holder. Brian Greig thanked the Hope Centre for the delicious lunch and their hospitality. The 50/50 and door prizes were then drawn.

The minutes from the Fall Meeting were accepted as circulated on a motion by Barry Harbinson and seconded by Ellen Palmer. Copies of all reports will accompany the minutes. The reports were accepted as a block on a motion by Bob Bonner and seconded by Louise Wilson. There was no business arising from the minutes.

NEW BUSINESS

The Treasurer's report was presented by Brian Greig on behalf of Robert Taylor. It was moved by Barb Riley and seconded by Marilyn McCarron that the audited report be accepted. Motion carried. A copy of the report will accompany the minutes.

A motion to accept the proposed budget was moved by Brian Greig and seconded by Pat Murray. Motion carried.

ACER/CART

Marg Urquhart spoke on ACER/Cart, a national association representing 150,000 retirees. Priorities this year included a National Seniors Strategy and shortly

thereafter a Minister was appointed. The pension and retirement income security priority was addressed with an e-petition which will be read in the House in June. With the upcoming Federal election, information and questions to ask candidates have been placed on the NBSRT website. The announcement of an Advisory Committee, on the Implementation of a national program lead the group to address that priority with a written submission and encouraged online discussion was made. An interim report has been released and the final is expected in June. With other senior groups, common issues and talking points were prepared for the February Advocacy on the Hill.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

Barry Harbinson presented the results of the Nominating Committee:

Past President	Barry Harbinson
President	Judy Braman
First Vice President	Brian Greig
Second Vice President	Bob Bonner
Treasurer	Barry Harbinson
Secretary	Patricia Loughery
Director	Patricia Murray

There being no further nominations from the floor, the Secretary was the asked to cast an individual vote for each of the above named nominees.

Committee Chairs are as follows:

Cards	Marijke Blok
Membership	Kathy Dalling
Publicity	Mary Ann Patterson
Reflections	Kathy Wilson

Scholarship	Netta Chase
School Days Museum	Dianne Stackhouse and Melody Hamm
Social	Patricia Roy
Telephone	Marg Urquhart
Website	Ellen Palmer
Wellness	Nancy Steele, Rose Theriault

There being no further nominations from the floor, the Secretary was asked to cast on ballot to accept the above Committee Chairs in block.

A short table discussion then took place on possible venues for future events. These discussions were spearheaded by a set of questions prepared at the last Executive meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned on a motion by Debbie McLaggan.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Loughery

(Secretary)